Austin Peralta October 25, 1990 – November 21, 2012

photo:Theo Jemison

Austin Peralta Trio at Warsoul Sessions from SITKKO on Vimeo.

Gaslamp Killer (ft. Dimlite) – “Seven Years of Bad Luck for Fun” (Official Music Video)

My Dry Wet Mess – Stereo Typing



My Dry Wet Mess
Stereo Typing

1. Berlin Stereo Hands
2. Austere Coincidences
3. When We Were Wrong
4. Words I Didn’t
5. Lick
6. Mombasa Tutu
7. Clappin’ Ears
8. A Wrong Number
9. My Warped Tits
10. Bullshit Indeed
11. Glue and the Love in It
12. Nowhere Now
13. Prismas (feat. Eva Puyuelo)
14. Youth Reboot

Stereo Typing is the sum of the parts of a journey. Giovanni Civitenga, aka My Dry Wet Mess, composed his forthcoming album for Brainfeeder over a 15 month period (November ‘10 through January ‘12), between Barcelona and Berlin, in four different houses. And out of the many changes and different chapters, comes a densely layered body of work that – despite being a product of transition – stands as his most grounded and resolved work yet.

The title derived, My Dry Wet Mess explains, “from the concept of typing for the stereo field, as in writing narration through sounds. Writing a story as a writer would do, but using sounds instead of words.” The 14 album tracks use live instrumentation, tweaked samples, slap-bass riffs, slanted beats and winding melodies to form playful narratives and plot shifts, leading the listener to places completely unexpected, and unknown. Twists and turns abound, each track is a journey in itself, at times traversing through intertwining synth lines in a buoyant underwater bassbin, other points diverting into R&B-sampled scifi wonderlands, filled with otherworldly sounds conversing. The album ends on sensory bliss, with the sublime “Prismas” and the daydream-inducing “Youth Reboot”.

Though his living situation changed throughout the album’s formation, there’s a inherent sense of family and home in the LP. His father plays guitar, Gianluca Pellegrino (an old friend and regular collaborator) plays various electric guitar parts, and his good friend in New York, Maryam Modarressi, sings on two songs, and her sampled voice makes an appearance throughout the album. The artwork was also created by his close conspirator, Berlin based illustrator Elliot Beaumont, a homage to one of MDWM’s favorite painters, De Chirico. “It’s got this hard to define quality to it, a sense of “future nostalgia” that I love and that I find extremely appropriate for my music and the ideas behind it.”

The Gaslamp Killer – RA.329

The Gaslamp Killer – Resident Advisor Mix RA 329 (September 2012)

Original Mix / Feature here:

Raw sounds from an LA b-boy.

You don’t get a word like “motherfucker” attached to your name for no good reason. William Bensussen, AKA The Gaslamp Killer, has been in peoples’ faces right from the start. Coming up in the rock town of San Diego, Bensussen would continually clear dance floors in the city’s Gaslamp district—hence the name—by playing Mobb Deep and Dilla.

Things didn’t stay this way forever. In LA he became a resident DJ at Daddy Kev’s Low End Theory, the mythologised weekly party and producer hangout that has seen the likes of Daedelus, Nosaj Thing and Flying Lotus rise from its ranks. It was on the latter’s Brainfeeder that GLK met a global audience as a producer. 2009′s My Troubled Mind and the following year’s Death Gate threw up his love of grizzly beats and obscure samples. Seeing GLK behind a pair of turntables is, however, when the MF tag makes most sense. His shows are the epitome of unhinged energy. Rock, jazz, bass music and funk are just as likely to be aired as hip-hop, as he wigs out with his now trademark dance moves.

GLK’s “Resident Killer mix” is 45-minute slice of what we’re talking about—plus you get the added bonus of a coda comprised solely of music from Breakthrough, his madcap debut album which was released today through Brainfeeder.